Three Branches Of Government

672 Words3 Pages
After undergoing years of oppression and injustice handed to them by the British government, the success of the Revolution gave the American Founding Fathers a chance to create a new government that would comply to every constraint they decided to set on it, and allow them every freedom they desired. To these founders, and the new American citizens, one of the greatest problems with the old government was that too much power lay in the hands of those few in charge. They feared that creating a strong, central government would restrict the freedoms they had fought so desperately for. To limit the power that any one individual, or group of individuals, could have, the writers of the Constitution created a government with three distinct branches which had three distinct jobs, further divided the legislative government and…show more content…
The first article created a legislative branch, which they called Congress. The new American Congress would have much the same powers as the British monarch and Parliament had, in the creation of laws. However, their Congress would be subject to the will of the people. Congress also does not handle the implementation and enforcement of the laws, as that power lies in the hands of the executive branch. The executive branch, defined in the second article of the Constitution, consists of the President, the Vice President, and the President’s Cabinet. While the President would be the one leader of the United States, his powers were severely limited, and did not equate to the same influence that the British monarch had. The third article created a judicial branch, which deals with judging laws, and the people subject to the laws. Supreme Court justices have no power but to be human representatives of the Constitution, judging based solely on its words, and not on any personal
Open Document