Separation Of Power: The Three Branches Of The Constitution

398 Words2 Pages
The framers of the Constitution wanted a strong and fair national government which wasn’t granted by the Articles of Confederation. They not only wanted to ensure a strong government but also not allow one person to gain too much power. To prevent government abuse of control and protect citizen’s rights and freedoms , the Constitution separated government into 3 branches. The division of government into these three branches is called separation of powers. This separation is described in the first three articles, or sections, of the Constitution. ("Three Branches of Government.") This separation of power serves to prevent one branch to take too much power and want to make, enforce and interpret laws as they wish. The Constitution also gives
Open Document