Buffalo Bills Traditions

2735 Words11 Pages
A summary through the 55 seasons of the Buffalo Bills Jordan Williams Liberty University Abstract The Buffalo Bills was an original franchise of the American Football League (AFL). Now they are a franchise of the National Football League (NFL) in the East Division of the American Football Conference (AFC). They are the only team to win four consecutive Conference Championships and got to four consecutive Super Bowls, however losing all four Super Bowls. Ralph Wilson owned the Team since it was founded, but when he passed away in 2014 the team was up for sale and is now owned by Terry and Kim Pegula. This paper will discuss the franchise history, past and current locations, logos and uniforms, the Bills traditions, win/loss…show more content…
The Bills were great at scoring and could score in bunches. The Bills would win their third straight AFC East Title and home field advantage with a 13-3 record. Defensive End Bruce Smith won Defensive Player of the Year. The Bills marched their way to Super Bowl XXV where they would lose to the New York Giants with the famous 47-yard “Wide Right” kick 20-19 (Fleming, 2002). The Bills offense was even stronger in 1991 as Thurman Thomas won Offensive Player of the Year and NFL MVP with 2,038 All-Purpose yards and 12 Touchdowns. Also, Jim Kelly has another tremendous season passing for 3,844 yards as the Buffalo Bills took the AFC East Title again for the fourth straight season with a 13-3 record. The Bills again rolled their way to Super Bowl XXVI. However, the Bills would lose their second straight Super Bowl against the Washington Redskins 37-24 (Fleming, 2002). In 1992, The Bills for the third straight year would have an amazing season and be the only team in history to make it to three consecutive Super Bowls. The Buffalo Bills took on the Dallas Cowboys in Super Bowl XXVII. The Bills ended up losing for the third time 52-17 in Pasadena (Fleming,…show more content…
The stadium originally had a seating capacity of over 80,000 consisting of three decks of blue and red seats. The lower and second levels of seats circle the entire field. The upper level seats are located on both sides of the stadium. The stadium is located 50 feet below ground level (StadiumsofProFootball). In 1984, the stadiums capacity was increased to 80, 290 with an addition of 16 executive suites, and in 1992, 24 more executive suites were added. The Red Zone and Goal Line clubs that are enclosed of glass and consist of 500 seats were added along with 14 executive suites (StadiumsofProFootball). In December 2012, the Bills, the State of New York and Erie County officials agreed on a 10 year lease agreement keeping the Bills at Buffalo until 2023. The agreements include $130 million in improvements to Ralph Wilson Stadium

More about Buffalo Bills Traditions

Open Document